PDA

View Full Version : I Got Promoted!

EnviousDominous
05-22-2019, 12:30 PM
So... the United States Air Force has a pretty complex means of gauging whether or not someone has earned enough points (yes, we call them points) toward promotion to be promoted. In this case, I was vying for promotion to Master Sergeant. You earn points by accumulating important medals, having a career record that looks good unto a board of three higher ranking individuals, and test well on your promotion test. Note; after this testing cycle, there is no more testing for promotion for people ranked E-6 through E-8, so as an E-6 this was my last chance to put my studying to good use.

In 2016 I studied hard, and crammed until I tested well enough to get scores well above the average for those testing from within my career field. Though, every year the top brass of the USAF decide how many people they want to promote and then settle on a "cutoff score" that would limit the amount of people who were promoted to that amount. The cutoff score was raised significantly in 2016 from what it was in 2015, so I missed it by about 10 points.

In 2017 I studied harder, and once again I got a better score and I missed it by about ten points.

In 2018, same heartache.

For 2019, I studied until my mind was a virtual interface through which I could pull information about the USAF and my career field from a vast library of subject matter. Like Sherlock, I practically built a fucking mind palace. This year they (barely) lowered the cutoff score, and I made it by 5 points. If the cutoff score was the same this year as it was last year, I would have missed it by (no joke) .27 points. That's 27 hundredths of a point, and missing by that much is a real thing in the USAF.